People > Faculty

Vikram Jandhyala

Vikram's photo

Vikram Jandhyala
Large-Scale Simulation and Physics-Based Computation
M318 EEB
Box 352500
University of Washington
Seattle, WA 98195

Research and Lab Web Page

Phone: 206-543-2186

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1998, PhD
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1995, MS
Indian Institute of Technology, New Delhi, India, 1993, B.Tech.


Vikram Jandhyala is Vice Provost for Innovation at the University of Washington, Executive Director of CoMotion, and Professor and former Chair in the Department of Electrical Engineering. He is founding UW director of the UW-PNNL Northwest Institute for Advanced Computing (NIAC), and directs the Applied Computational Engineering (ACE) lab in UW EE. He has published more than 150 papers and founded, along with his students in 2006, Physware (Nimbic), a venture-backed simulation software company which was acquired by Mentor Graphics in 2014.

He was chair of the UW EE department from 2011 to 2014, led the UW EE professional masterís program as faculty director through early growth in 2009 and 2010, and was an inaugural UW CoMotion presidential entrepreneurial faculty fellow in 2011.

He has served on the technical program committees of the Design Automation Conference, ICCAD, DESIGNCON, IEEE APS, and IEEE EPEP. He is a senior member of the IEEE and a full member of URSI Commission B and has served as a consultant to government agencies and contractors, large corporations, and startups. He has served as visiting faculty at the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore and the City University of Hong Kong, Kowloon, and as a visiting researcher at the center for applied computing, Lawrence Livermore National Labs.

His current interests are social and organizational networks, computational science and big data, electronic design automation, technology entrepreneurship, and educational innovation in all forms.

His graduate students have received several honors including the Intel graduate fellowship (A. Sathanur), the NASA inventor award (I. Chowdhury), IEEE EMC Presidents award (M. Mondal), the DoD SMART graduate fellowship (A. Siripuram), and the UW EE outstanding graduate research award (S.Chakraborty).


Inventor Award, 2008, NASA.

Outstanding Research Advisor Award, 2004, Department of Electrical Engineering, University of Washington.

Senior Member Grade, 2003, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

Elected Full Member, 2001, International Union of Radio Science (URSI) Commission B, Fields and Waves.

CAREER Grant, 2001, National Science Foundation, ECS Division.

Inaugural Raj Mittra Outstanding Research Award, 1998, Department of Electrical Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Microwave Graduate Fellowship, 1996, IEEE.

Research Interests

Computational electromagnetics, microelectronics simulation and design, integral equations, fast multilevel N-body methods, electronic design automation, signal and power integrity, electromagnetic interference and compatibility, multiphysics applications, synthesis and optimization, statistical methods and design for manufacturability, EM-circuit cosimulation, parallel and multicore algorithms, and field theoretic methods on graphs.

Selected Journal Publications

A.V. Sathanur, V. Jandhyala, H. Braunisch, K. Aygun, and Z. Zhang, Return loss optimization of the microprocessor package vertical interconnect, Proceedings of the IEEE Electrical Components and Technology Conference, pp. 1636-1642, San Diego, May 2009.

A.V. Sathanur, R. Chakraborty, and V. Jandhyala, A hierarchical electromagnetic-circuit technique for statistical analysis of RF circuits in the spectral domain, IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques, vol. 57, no.4, pp. 796-806, April 2009.

A. Siripuram and V. Jandhyala, Surface interaction matrices for boundary integral analysis of lossy transmission lines, IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques, vol. 57, no. 2, pp. 374-382, February 2009.

Research Grant and Contract Sponsors

Professor Jandhyala and the ACE Lab has been funded by the National Science Foundation, Defense Advanced Projects Research Agency, Semiconductor Research Corporation, Intel Corporation, IBM, Dell, Air Force Research Labs, University of Washington Royalty Research Fund and Technology Gap Initiation Fund, Lawrence Livermore National Labs, Washington Research Foundation, NASA, and the SBIR program.

Recent Graduate Students

Indranil Chowdhury, PhD, 2007
Swagato Chakraborty, PhD, 2005
Chuanyi Yang, PhD, 2005
Dipanjan Gope, PhD 2005
Yong Wang, PhD, 2004

EE logo